Current Jackpot
Euro lotteryEurojackpotDevelopment history

The history of the Eurojackpot

The first lottery of the lottery Eurojackpot took place on 23 March 2012. With regard to the number of countries initially involved, six or seven states are mentioned. The difference lies in the fact that Italy was involved in the preparation of the lottery, but actually did not participate until the third play due to organizational reasons. The other founding members were Germany, Denmark, Finland, the Netherlands, Estonia and Slovenia.

Dates of admittance of further Länder

The group of participants at the Eurojackpot has expanded several times. Initially Spain joined the drawing on 06.12.2012 before another six countries joined Sweden, Iceland, Latvia, Lithuania, Croatia and Norway on 1 February 2013. The next enhancement took place with Hungary and the Czech Republic on 10 October 2014, before Slovakia took part for the first time on 9 October 2015. Originally, the Slovakian admittance was also planned for 2014.

The rule of the game changes

There were two major changes to the Eurojackpot. On February 1, 2013, the Lotto companies overrode the compulsory distribution in the first class. Only then the maximum amount could increase to 90 million euros for the jackpot. For a higher jackpot, the excess share in profits goes into the second-class profit. The second change took place on October 10, 2014: the number of playable euro numbers was increased from eight to ten. At the same time, there was a slight shift in the allocation of the totalwinnings to the individual winning categories.