Current Jackpot
Euro lotteryThe EuromillionsDevelopment history

The history of the Euromillions

The Euromillions Lottery first proceeded on 13 February 2004. The founding members were France, Spain and Great Britain. The only expansion so far took place on 8 October 2004 and included Belgium, Ireland, Austria, Switzerland, Liechtenstein, Luxembourg and Portugal.

The introduction of Tuesday’s drawings

As a drawing day, the lottery companies participating in the Euromillions agreed on Friday. The drawings on Tuesdays were only subsequently introduced on 10 May 2011. A further change on this date was the increase in the number of star numbers from nine to eleven. And since then players win with two correctly predicted major numbers.

Changes to the jackpot

An upper limit for the jackpot of the Euromillions was first introduced in November 2009 and set to 185 million euro. Prior to this, the rule was that, in the twelfth game, without a hit in the first class, a compulsory payout was made worth the second winnings class. The original plan icluded that the maximum amount of money should increase by five million euros each, once it had been paid out. This rule was amended again in the middle of February 2012, so that 190,000,000 euros have since been the fixed limit for the winnnings. Unlike the Eurojackpot, a compulsory payout occurs as soon as the jackpot has reached its peak for two consecutive draws.